county seal

Marion Municipal Court
Judge Teresa L. Ballinger Amanda Fellows, Clerk

Probation Department

Mission Statement

The mission of the Marion Municipal Court Probation Department is to protect the public through accountability and supervision while promoting positive behavior change.

Vision Statement

The vision of the Marion Municipal Court Probation Department is to foster positive changes in offender behavior through proactive, innovative, and evidence-based approaches.

General Contact Information

233 West Center Street
Marion, Ohio 43302
City Hall, 3rd Floor
General Phone Number (740) 382-4031, Ext. 0
Fax Number (740) 387-4301
Restitution Payments, Electronic Home Monitoring/House Arrest (740) 382-4031, Ext. 0
Diversion (740) 382-2254
Driver Intervention Program (740) 383-5515
Drug Court/Mental Health Court (740) 387-2038
Veteran's Court (740) 387-7323

Staff Contact Information

Tom Stotts Chief Probation Officer (740) 383-5515 tstotts@marionmunicipalcourt.org
James Boleyn Special Dockets Coordinator (740) 375-2760 jboleyn@marionmunicipalcourt.org
Cindy Wall Probation Officer (740) 382-6504 cwall@marionmunicipalcourt.org
Isaiah Twine Probation Officer (740) 382-5947 itwine@marionmunicipalcourt.org
Rick Howell Probation Officer (740) 387-7323 rhowell@marionmunicipalcourt.org
Lindsey Cochran Probation Officer (740) 387-2249 lcochran@marionmunicipalcourt.org
Cliff Smith Probation Officer (740) 382-2254 csmith@marionmunicipalcourt.org
Mallory Webster Probation Officer (740) 387-2234 mwebster@marionmunicipalcourt.org
Casie Newsome Probation Officer (740) 387-2134 cnewsome@marionmunicipalcourt.org
Tim Thacker Probation Officer (740) 387-2235 tthacker@marionmunicipalcourt.org
Bevin Peppard Special Dockets Clerk (740) 387-2038 bpeppard@marionmunicipalcourt.org
Jessica Coleman Probation Clerk (740) 382-4031, Ext 0 jcoleman@marionmunicipalcourt.org

Standard Reporting Probation

Long-term probation consisting of mostly moderate and high-risk supervision established through an intake screening. This supervision consists of case planning using evidence-based practices to assist offenders in establishing short- and long-term goals to get them on path to becoming a productive citizen. Supervision consists of office visits, field visits, and electronic home monitoring.

General Reporting Probation

Short-term probation requiring little to no probation services, which may be established through an intake screening. In most cases, offenders on this supervision are required complete some type of online class, complete community service, complete a driver intervention program, and/or pay restitution.

Diversion

Supervision for first time offenders who have committed theft, underage consumption, possession of marijuana, and other qualifying offenses. If an offender is approved for the diversion program, the offender must enter a guilty plea and within 90 days must complete several hours of community services, pay court costs in full, and in some cases complete an online course. If all requirements are completed within 90 days, the case is dismissed. The diversion program allows for some first-time offenders not to get a misdemeanor conviction which may hinder in obtaining employment or seeking higher education.

MARC Court (Drug Court)

The Making Accountability and Recovery Count Court (MARC) is a specialized court docket focused on offenders diagnosed with a substance use disorder. This drug treatment court assists participants in developing a sober lifestyle through evidence-based intervention and treatment in a non-adversarial approach. This alternative to traditional case processing supports participants in their sobriety, employment or education skills, housing, and development and utilization of outside support systems with the ultimate goal of reducing recidivism and saving lives.

WIN Court (Mental Health Court)

The Wellness Intervention Court (WIN) is a specialized court docket for offenders diagnosed with a severe and persistent mental illness. WIN Court connects these offenders with effective, evidence-based treatment and case management to assist in improving their illness management skills. These connections aid the participants in developing accountability, enhancing their ability to lead a stable life, and reducing their criminal behavior.

Veterans’ Treatment Court

The Veterans’ Treatment Court is a specialized court docket for offenders who are also veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces. The court is committed to addressing the unique mental health- and substance abuse-related needs of the participants by providing an intensive treatment program that helps establish access to a range of services available within the community. The goal is to promote self-sufficiency, to reduce recidivism, to enhance public safety and to provide an alternative to incarceration.

Frequent Contacts

Felony Adult Probation (740) 223-4230 http://www2.co.marion.oh.us/adultprobation
Family Court/Juvenile Probation (740) 223-4060
Multi County Correctional Center (740) 387-7434 http://www.multicountyjail.com
City Prosecutor/Law Director (740) 387-3777 http://www.marionohio.us/law
Marion County Prosecutor's Office (740) 223-4290
Marion County Clerk of Courts (740) 223-4230 http://www2.co.marion.oh.us/clerk/
Marion County Sheriff's Office (740) 382-8244 http://www2.co.marion.oh.us/sheriff/
Marion Police Department (740) 387-2525 http://marionohiopolice.com
Bureau of Motor Vehicles - Marion (740) 387-1467
Bureau of Motor Vehicles - Columbus (614) 752-7500 https://www.bmv.ohio.gov
Marion/Crawford ADAMH Board (740) 387-8531 https://mcadamh.com
Marion County Children Services (740) 389-2317 http://www.marionkids.com
Marion County Job & Family Services (740) 387-8560 http://www.mcjfs.com
Marion Matters (740) 223-2999
Marion County Veterans Services (740) 387-0100 http://www.marionveteranservice.com
Aspire (GED) (740) 386-4123 https://www.mtc.edu/aspire
Goodwill Education & Training Center (740) 751-4282 https://mariongoodwill.org/footer-links/contact-us
Metropolitan Housing (740) 383-5680 https://marionmha.org
Community Action (740) 387-1039 https://www.ohcac.org